Ice Block Excavation 


It’s been pretty hot here and we have been looking for a fun way to pass the time. That’s when I had the idea to do an archeological dig! I remembered how much fun it was when we did this on a larger scale back in 6th grade but unfortunately I don’t have a big section of dirt I can just let the boys dig through. Not to mention how miserable digging in the heat can be. So I decided to do it much smaller scale and it turned out to be a great beat the heat project. Now I wish I could take all the credit for the idea but I will admit I saw it done with a plain block of ice somewhere else but I did it a little different.

We have been doing a lot of color mixing and rainbow projects and what little boy doesn’t love dinosaurs! So I combined them all and made an ice block with three different color layers, plastic dinosaurs, rubber cars and Hot Wheels just for fun. 

The key is to make sure you have a good container without a lip that the ice block can slide out of when you are ready. I first did a layer of yellow colored water and put in the first dinosaurs. After letting that freeze for a few hours I did a layer of blue water (which ended up mixing and changing the yellow slightly green) and added more rubber toys and hot wheels. A few hours later I added a red water layer more cars and a kids fork. I let that finish freezing and I was done!



We took some toy tools and little condiment bottles and began chipping away and melting the ice outside. As we worked through the block he found new toys and got more excited each time. We eventually had to move inside to the tub but the fun just continued.


It was an easy and fun project for both boys and one we will definitely be doing again. 

Leave a Reply

